German Chocolate Cake

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while, I had surgery on my right hand. It is very difficult to do anything without the use of your prominent hand. However, my children are willing to do some things for me if there is something in it for them.

This time Megan wanted chocolate cake.  She found a german chocolate box cake. She made the cake and I made the icing. Now I am the only one who likes coconut, so we made two 9inch cake rounds and I put coconut pecan icing on one and a coffee flavored ganache on the other. It was a win-win situation to me. There were some left over and I am planning some brownies, or just eat it by spoon I love it so much.

Ingredients

1 c heavy cream
1 c half and half
5 oz unsweetened butter
10 oz sugar
6 oz brown sugar
10 oz yolks ( In my recipe I used the whole egg, it did have a few bits of curdled eggs that I strained before adding the coconut and nuts.)
1 lb shredded coconut
10 oz pecans
1/2 tsp vanilla

Method

  1. Bring to a boil in a large sauce pan the cream, half and half then add the butter and sugars.
  2. Bring ingredients back to boil, then temper the whisked eggs with a little of the hot liquid at a time, and then when the eggs are the same temperature add it back into the pot and stir until thickened. If you used the whole egg instead of just the yolks strain the mixture now.
  3. Add the coconut, nuts and vanilla off of the heat and let come to room temperature.
  4. Ice cake accordingly.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.