Sloppy Joes

I like to buy things in bulk. When I buy hamburger I buy a 10 pound tube. Regardless of what my husband may think, I do not like to go to the market every day.  I think it’s the parking lot and the lines that drive me crazy and not looking over the food, I could do that all day.

Anyway, instead of just chopping it up into 1 pound packages and freezing it, I usually cook about half the package into ground pieces to use for tacos, sloppy joes, etc. The rest I make into meat loaf and hamburger patties, then freeze, pre-made meals ready when I’m feeling lazy.

I like this recipe because its tangy and chunky with lots of tomato sauce, but not runny. Top it of with some sharp cheddar all melting down the bun and a few crispy potato chips and you have a fast dinner that’s filling if not healthy.  If you like you could serve a salad alongside the sandwich and make it a bit healthier.

Ingredients

1 lb hamburger
1 med onion, small dice
1 green pepper, small dice ( I like to use the mini tri-color peppers, they make it look great)
1/2 cup ketchup
2 T Dijon mustard
2 T cider vinegar
1 T sugar
1 T garlic, minced
1 sm can tomato paste
8 sandwich buns
8 slices of sharp cheddar cheese

Method

  1. Fry the hamburger in a medium skillet, breaking into small pieces.
  2. Add onion and peppers. Cook until hamburger is browned, stirring occasionally.
  3. Drain fat, then add all other ingredients, except buns and cheese. Simmer for 30 minutes.
  4. Serve hot on buns with cheese melting down the bun. YUM!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.